The Olof B. Widlund Prize

The Scientific Committee of is pleased to announce the Olof B. Widlund Prize to be awarded in DD28 in KAUST in january 2024.

The Olof B. Widlund Prize for Excellence in Domain Decomposition Methods was established by the Scientific Committee of at DD26 in 2020, and was awarded for the first time at DD27 in Prague in 2022. The naming of the prize honors a great pioneer of the theory, algorithms, and applications of domain decomposition, a mentor of numerous productive contributors to the field -- both at his own institution and internationally, and a builder of bridges between theorists and practitioners in academic, industry, and government labs on multiple continents.

This is a major prize for an established scientist in the field, in contrast to the poster prize in domain decomposition for a young scientist. It can be awarded for advances in the theory, algorithmic innovation, scalable implementation, or application of domain decomposition methods, service to the domain decomposition community, or any combination thereof.

The Olof Widlund Prize awardee gives a plenary lecture at the next conference and receives a certificate and a cash award of 2500 Euros from the Scientific Committee.

Nominations for the 2024 Olof Widlund prize are sought with a deadline of August 30, 2023. A nomination packet consists of:

  1. a citation of 25 words or fewer on the key contributions of the nominee, beginning with the word "For ... ";
  2. a statement of 1000 words or fewer putting the contributions of the nominee in context and expanding on their cumulative influence;
  3. a bibliography of the nominee's papers relevant to domain decomposition methods;
  4. a list of the nominee's most notable public presentations of domain decomposition methods;
  5. the name and short CV of the nominator.

Nomination materials should be in English and bound together in a single pdf file. No endorsement letters are required. No self-nominations are permitted. Please send nominations to the president of the selection committee, Prof. Petter Bjorstad, email

Previous prize winners